top of page

4 year

On Saturday I celebrated 4 years of having Type 1 Diabetes! Hearing that makes me sad and proud at the same time. I’ve grown so much since I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. I almost feel like a different person completely. There are still times that I forget I have it all together; like when I wake up in the middle of the night hot, sweating, and shaking, thinking to myself that all I need to do is get up and turn on the fan, only to remember that I am diabetic and this is not the normal reaction of someone who is simply hot. I stay up for 30 minutes to an hour sometimes till my body recovers from the low. That’s life with diabetes…

Romans 8:18

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us.

There is no way I could do this without my family. And my Lord. One big thing that has changed this year was that I switched from insulin shots to an omnipod insulin pump, very naively if I might add. I was against it for so long and then when I finally gave in it seemed like the answer to all my problems. For the first few weeks I had a lot of fun with it… then I realized that no mater what technology is created I’m still going to have to mange and deal with this disease for the rest of my earthly life. I get down about diabetes more than I would like to admit. But every time I think negatively I remember Christ’s love for me.

2 Peter 3:13

But according to his promise we are waiting for new heavens and a new earth in which righteousness dwells.

There is a reason I celebrate my Diabetes Day… not just to have another day to celebrate me (even though that is nice), but mainly to celebrate God’s power and grace. First off He gave me doctors and modern medicine that has allowed me to live four more years than I would have without today’s technology. He’s given me family who helped me learn how to deal with the ins and outs of it because they already had so much knowledge of it. They also helped me sort through the dreams I could no longer achieve because of this disease. But with each disappointed dream came hope and opportunity, learning and understanding. My life would look completely different right now if I had never gotten diabetes, and I’ve also experienced things I never would have without it. Including one day every year where I celebrate God’s goodness, mercy and love for me. This day gives me a personal reminder that God’s grace alone will bring a day of glory where every disease, every imperfection, and every sin will be taken away, not just for me but for all who know him as their Savior. We will experience God’s glory in the way it was always meant to be experienced. I am reminded that only because of Christ’s sacrifice will I be able to live in perfection and glory with Christ forever, never having to worry about testing my blood sugar, counting carbs, or giving myself insulin again.

2 Timothy 1:9-10

He has saved us and called us to a holy life—not because of anything we have done but because of his own purpose and grace. This grace was given us in Christ Jesus before the beginning of time, 10 but it has now been revealed through the appearing of our Savior, Christ Jesus, who has destroyed death and has brought life and immortality to light through the gospel.


bottom of page